🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro’s Latest Update: What The Plan Now Includes on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI changed ChatGPT plan allowances on October 29, canceling a planned reduction for Pro 200 and doubling Work and Codex usage on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now match those who already had the higher one; Business Premium usage also rises, though OpenAI did not state a multiplier in its release notes.
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and increased the Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, according to release notes published October 29. The changes took effect immediately, with existing subscribers receiving the new allowances automatically; Business Premium seats also get more usage, though OpenAI did not specify how much.
OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Those tools draw on the same allowance, so the increase applies to their shared pool rather than creating separate limits. OpenAI’s updated Pro help page says existing subscribers receive the change without waiting for a renewal.
For Pro 200, the September reduction was canceled. The plan’s lower allowance has doubled to match the higher allowance already held by some subscribers; customers who already had the higher allowance keep it. OpenAI’s help page also says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit on Pro 200 now matches the higher one. This is a restoration for affected subscribers, not a doubling for every Pro 200 customer.
Other limits and prices are not broadly changing, according to OpenAI’s help information. Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no multiplier in its release note. A post by OpenAI product executive Thibault Sottiaux says it is doubling; that wording is broader than the official help page’s specific account of which limits changed.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
How the Plan Changes Affect Subscribers
The update matters because OpenAI reversed a planned reduction only a day before it was due to begin. Subscribers who had been told to expect a smaller Pro 200 allowance from October 30 can keep the higher amount if they already had it, while those on the lower allowance now match it. The changes also give Pro 100 and Pro 500 customers more room for longer ChatGPT tasks and coding work.
But a larger allowance does not mean every ChatGPT limit doubled or that subscribers can complete twice as much work. OpenAI says actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. The distinction matters for customers comparing tiers: the Work and Codex pool is changing, but some chat limits and plan features are not. Businesses budgeting for seats should also distinguish the stated increase from the unquantified Business Premium change.
Popular right now

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From September Cut to October Reversal
The change follows a series of plan updates. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for GPT-6 Astra, describing that demand as “really unprecedented.” That characterization is his statement, not a usage figure provided in the update.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. Its announcement said included usage allowances were changing and that affected customers would receive details by email, while the monthly Pro 200 price remained $200. Sottiaux described the plan scale at the time as Plus = 1X, Pro 100 = 5X and Pro 200 = 10X, saying some existing subscribers would retain a 20X multiplier temporarily. The planned October 30 reduction prompted the reversal announced October 29.
OpenAI describes ChatGPT Work as a way to handle longer jobs, including research, documents and multi-step tasks; Codex is its coding agent. The company’s pricing information says they use the same pricing, credits and usage limits. That shared allowance is the part explicitly doubled on Pro 100 and Pro 500.
“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X
OpenAI has not published a multiplier for the Business Premium increase in its release notes. Sottiaux says that usage is doubling, but the company’s official wording only says it is increasing. The exact size of the change, and whether it applies uniformly across seats, is not specified in the material available.
The update also does not set out new figures for the Work and Codex allowances in the release note. OpenAI says the amounts depend on the model, task and speed mode, so the headline doubling describes an allowance change rather than a guaranteed quantity of tasks. The notes do not announce changes for Business Standard, Go or Free.
Subscribers Can Check Their Usage
OpenAI says the revised allowances are already active and that existing subscribers do not need to take action or wait for their next billing date. Customers can check their account’s usage information to see the allowance available to them before changing plans.
For companies, the next practical step is to review seat assignments and usage budgets against the updated plan terms. The October 29 announcement does not provide a date for a further policy change. Any additional clarification, particularly about Business Premium’s increase, would need to come from OpenAI.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT plans have doubled Work and Codex allowances?
OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. The company did not state new numerical limits in its release note.
Did every Pro 200 subscriber get twice as much usage?
No. OpenAI says the lower Pro 200 allowance doubled to match the higher one. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it, so the change does not double usage for everyone on the plan.
Did ChatGPT prices or all usage limits change?
The October 29 announcement describes changes to Work and Codex allowances on certain plans. OpenAI says Plus usage and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged. It did not announce a price change in this update.
How much more Business Premium usage is included?
OpenAI’s release notes say Business Premium usage is increasing but do not give a multiplier. Sottiaux said it was doubling; the official help material cited in the update does not specify the amount.
Do existing subscribers need to renew to receive the new allowances?
No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
