Could Your AI Plan Change? The Debate Over Grok Costs And Flat Rates
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Could Your AI Plan Change? The Debate Over Grok Costs And Flat Rates on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that Grok Bot’s cost to serve was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but gave no figures or details of a policy change. In the same week, OpenAI published limits on paid subscriptions per card or device and said some plans will share an allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December. The developments point to tighter management of heavy AI use, but do not establish that flat monthly prices are ending.

Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving **Grok Bot** was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI published new limits on paid subscriptions and plans to combine usage allowances across ChatGPT and Codex. The statements and changes put **AI subscription limits** under scrutiny, but neither company has confirmed that flat monthly prices are being abandoned.Musk’s comment came in reply to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset after reporting that usage had run out quickly. The user’s post is an individual complaint, not a measure of typical usage. Musk supplied **no cost, revenue or margin figures**, and did not say whether xAI had changed the bot’s limits, pricing or reset schedule. His statement concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s task-running agent, not Grok chat as a whole. According to the source’s account of xAI’s pricing information, Grok Bot is included in paid X plans and uses a **shared weekly pool** that also covers other products. xAI describes usage as depending on agent steps and tokens, rather than simply the number of messages. That means tasks can consume different amounts of capacity, though xAI has not disclosed the economics behind Musk’s comment. OpenAI’s changes are separate. Its help center says paid ChatGPT accounts face limits on how many subscriptions can be associated with a payment card or used on a device, covering Go, Plus and Pro plans; the page does not state a numerical cap. OpenAI also says Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from a **shared allowance for ChatGPT and Codex starting in December**, measured in tokens. The source says unlimited Instant chats remain outside that allowance. OpenAI’s published materials do not provide all the details needed to compare individual users’ expected usage before and after the change.
At a glance
reportWhen: Developing; Musk posted on Nov. 1, 2026…
The developmentMusk’s comment about Grok Bot costs coincided with new OpenAI account limits and plans for shared usage allowances, sharpening scrutiny of how AI subscriptions handle expensive use.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How AI Usage Is Being Metered

For subscribers, a monthly price does not necessarily mean every feature or task has the same practical limit. An agent that performs research or coding over an extended period can consume more capacity than a short exchange, and shared pools can make activity in one product affect available use in another. Customers may need to check plan terms and usage dashboards before upgrading or purchasing add-ons. For companies, the changes point to a budgeting challenge: a per-seat subscription may sit alongside limits that vary with model, task and duration. That does not prove that AI services are becoming more expensive overall, or that any specific user will face a higher bill. It does mean that businesses comparing plans should distinguish the advertised monthly price from the amount and kind of usage included, and seek written details on caps, overages and resets.
Shark PowerDetect Corded Stick Vacuum with HEPA Filtration, Purple (HZ4001AMZ)

Shark PowerDetect Corded Stick Vacuum with HEPA Filtration, Purple (HZ4001AMZ)

Ninja Foodi Smart Dual Heat Air Fry Oven, 13-in-1, Silver (SP351)

Ninja Foodi Smart Dual Heat Air Fry Oven, 13-in-1, Silver (SP351)

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Recent Changes Across AI Plans

OpenAI introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024, advertising unlimited access to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That earlier statement illustrates the financial tension behind heavy-use plans, but does not establish the current profitability of any subscription. The source also reports that OpenAI adjusted some top-tier allowances on Oct. 29. Its release notes described doubling Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500 and cancelling a planned reduction to Pro 200. A staff member’s broader X post described changes across several tiers, while the release notes gave narrower specifics. The account and card limits and the forthcoming shared allowance followed in the same week, making it important to distinguish **more allowance on some plans** from tighter account rules and pooled usage.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, on X, Nov. 1, 2026

What the Companies Have Not Disclosed

Musk did not say what changed before or after his post, whether Grok Bot usage limits were reduced, or whether xAI plans a reset, price change or new cap. The claim that a change had already happened is an interpretation of his use of the past tense, not a confirmed announcement. Reports cited by the source about an official Grok account discussing adjusted allocations and a dashboard fault could not be independently confirmed from the material provided. OpenAI has not published the numerical card or device limits in the cited help page. The practical effect of its shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance will depend on the final terms and individual usage. The available information also does not establish whether other providers will make comparable changes, or whether subscriptions as a category are moving away from flat monthly pricing.

December Allowance Changes Ahead

OpenAI’s shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance is scheduled to begin in **December 2026**. Subscribers will need to review the plan details and usage information as the change takes effect; the source material does not provide a more specific date or a complete account of how every plan will be measured. For Grok Bot, the next meaningful update would be a direct xAI explanation of any revised limits, reset rules or pricing. Until one is available, Musk’s post confirms a cost concern but not a particular policy change. Users and organizations can compare published plan terms and track usage, while treating estimates of undisclosed costs or future pricing as speculation.

Key Questions

Did xAI announce a Grok Bot price increase?

No price increase was announced in Musk’s Nov. 1 post. He said serving Grok Bot cost more than was sustainable relative to revenue, without specifying a price or a planned change.

Did Musk confirm that Grok Bot limits were cut?

No. His post did not say whether usage limits changed or explain why users reported running out of usage quickly. The complaint came from an X user and does not establish a general change.

What is OpenAI changing in December?

OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business plans will use a shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens. According to the source, unlimited Instant chats will remain outside that meter.

Are AI subscriptions ending their flat monthly prices?

The developments do not show that flat monthly prices are ending. They show that providers may place limits or shared usage pools around particular features and tasks, even when a plan has a monthly price.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
You May Also Like

2026 Content Creation Simplified With AI-Driven Laptops

New AI-enhanced laptops in 2026 aim to streamline content creation, combining high performance with intelligent features for creators. Details are emerging.

Seacoast Banking Corporation Of Florida Surges In Global Coverage

Seacoast Banking Corporation of Florida experiences a significant increase in international media mentions, indicating rising global interest.

Stripe And Advent’s Bid For PayPal: Market Trends And Industry Impact

Stripe and Advent have submitted a joint offer to acquire PayPal, signaling potential industry shifts in digital payments and fintech consolidation.

Six Questions Europe Should Ask Canada To Enhance AI Cooperation

Exploring six key questions Europe should ask Canada to shape effective AI and digital trade alliances amid ongoing negotiations and sovereignty concerns.